What Takes Place in Oklahoma If You Get a DUI?


It is crucial to comprehend Oklahoma law and the legal process you must follow after being charged with a DUI, regardless of whether this is your first offense or you have received repeated DUI charges. If a non-commercial motorist is over 21 and has a blood alcohol content of.08 or more, they are deemed legally intoxicated in Oklahoma. Several different elements, including the severity of your specific case, affect the DUI sanctions in Oklahoma. You must get legal help to get rid of any implications of a DUI.

What is A DUI?

‘Driving under the influence’ is referred to as a DUI, as you may know. Each year, hundreds of people in the United States are accused of DUI, often known as drunk driving, operating while intoxicated, or drinking and driving. Although driving while intoxicated is unquestionably a severe felony that should not be taken lightly, there are some circumstances in which the person facing this charge may be able to contest the allegations. In some situations, the arresting police officer did not follow the correct procedures, or the subject in issue may be able to demonstrate they were not intoxicated.

What Happens If You Get a DUI?

The following are the sanctions for driving under the influence in Oklahoma:

  • First offense: The offender might spend 10 days to a year in jail and/or pay a fine of up to $1,000. First-time offenders will also have their driver’s license suspended for 180 days and be required to participate in a substance abuse examination and evaluation.
  • Second DUI within ten years of the first: Anyone convicted of a second DUI within ten years of the first is subject to a fine of up to $2,500 and a prison sentence of one to five years. Additionally, they must participate in a substance misuse assessment and evaluation and risk having their driver’s license suspended for up to a year.
  • Third DUI: A person who is charged with a third DUI may be sentenced to one to seven years in jail and/or a fine of up to $5,000. Additionally, third-time offenders will be required to utilize an ignition interlock device and complete 240 hours of community service. They might lose their driver’s license for up to three years if the third charge was brought within five years of the prior offenses.
  • Four or more DUIs: Anyone convicted of four or more offenses faces a prison sentence of one to ten years and a fine of up to $10,000.They will be subjected to a year of supervision, ongoing alcohol testing, 480 hours of community service, usage of an ignition interlock device, and various other requirements.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *